Skip Navigation
 1.877.324.6386 1.802.864.1848

 Français
LAKE WEATHER
Get Details
 56°
   
Donate to ECHO

 

           
HOME / VISITORS / PRESS ROOM / MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE / RELEASE

RETURN TO MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE


VISITORS

+

HOURS &
ADMISSION
+ DAILY SCHEDULE
+ DIRECTIONS
+ FOOD &
BEVERAGES
+ GIFT SHOP
+ ABOUT ECHO
+ GROUP TOURS
+ FACILITY RENTAL
- PRESS ROOM

Media Release
Archive

Photos

Audio & Video
Archive

NEW FROM
THE ECHO BLOG

LESSONS FROM THE PACIFIC COAST, THE HATFIELD CENTER, NEWPORT, OREGON

POSTED JULY 28 AT 11:06 AM

The following blog was…

READ MORE +

FOR IMMEDIATE
RELEASE

 

Veuillez communiquer avec : Steven Leibman ou Grace Per Lee
802-864-1848 ext. 125 ou 131
sleibman@echovermont.org ou gperlee@echovermont.org

CLICK HERE FOR ENGLISH VERSION

À LA RECHERCHE DES « TRACES DE DINOSAURES » DE NOUVELLE-ANGLETERRE, AU CENTRE ÉCHO

Ouverture de l’exposition le 15 novembre 2008

BURLINGTON (Vermont), le 22 octobre 2008. — Imaginez un instant que vous trouvez une empreinte de dinosaure dans votre jardin. C’est bien arrivé à Pliny Moody, âgé de 14 ans, alors qu’il labourait le champ de son père dans le Massachusetts en 1802 : des empreintes trifides imprimées dans la plaque rocheuse — et le mot « dinosaure » n’avait même pas encore été utilisé! Comment a-t-on pu développer notre compréhension moderne des dinosaures en partant de la découverte de ces traces de pas, voilà plus de cent ans? Venez l’apprendre à l’exposition « Traces de dinosaures » ouverte du 15 novembre au 27 avril à l’aquarium d’eau douce et centre d’activités scientifiques du Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain au centre ÉCHO. Cette toute dernière exposition du centre ÉCHO présente de vrais fossiles et des activités interactives pleines d’imagination qui donnent vie à la paléoichnologie — l’étude des restes fossiles, notamment des traces. « Traces de dinosaures » met particulièrement l’accent sur les empreintes de dinosaures dans les États de Nouvelle-Angleterre, soit le Massachusetts et le Connecticut, de même que le New Jersey et dans l’est du Canada, là où de nombreux fossiles ont été trouvés et en fait, continuent d’être découverts encore aujourd’hui.

Les visiteurs de l’exposition « Traces de dinosaures » pourront :

  • approcher — et mettre le pied sur — les traces grandeur nature laissées par les dinosaures de Nouvelle-Angleterre voilà des millions d’années. Pourront-ils suivre leur piste?
  • Courir aussi vite qu’un dinosaure — ou ramper aussi lentement — sur le « tapis roulant Dino »; puis utiliser une calculatrice géante faite sur mesure pour comparer leurs vitesses.
  • Entendre et ressentir depuis leur siège, sur le banc du Parc Jurassique (Jurassic Park Bench), les pas puissants d’un dinosaure qui « vient les attaquer par surprise ».
  • Découvrir comment les scientifiques utilisent aujourd’hui des animaux vivants comme les émeus, les dindes et les lézards pour étudier le système de locomotion des dinosaures.

Selon le directeur général du centre ÉCHO , Phelan Fretz, « il y a toute une histoire derrière chaque ensemble de traces, et l’interprétation de ces histoires peut être aussi enthousiasmante et variée que les traces elles-mêmes ». Même l’absence de traces en raconte une. Par exemple, ce mystère : le Vermont est entouré d’États et de provinces où ont été trouvées de nombreuses traces mais, à ce moment-ci, aucune empreinte de dinosaure n’a été localisée dans le Green Mountain State, l’État du Vermont. Pour quelle raison? Les experts formulent des théories selon lesquelles la plupart de l’État du Vermont se trouvait sous l’eau à l’époque préhistorique. Le Vermont peut néanmoins faire valoir sa propre « renommée fossile » : des traces de récif corallien trouvées dans les îles Champlain précèdent les dinosaures de plusieurs millions d’années!

« Traces de dinosaures » est une création de EEC!, ceux-là mêmes qui vous avaient présenté Turtle Travels (les voyages d’une tortue), Tree Houses (maisons dans les arbres), et Attack of the Bloodsuckers! (l’attaque des sangsues). L’exposition entière se décline en anglais, français et espagnol et accueille des visiteurs venus de partout. Saisissez à pleines mains les occasions présentées par ce voyage de découvertes — et mettez-y les pieds! — en éclaircissant les histoires de ces dinosaures qui erraient dans notre propre région voilà des millions d’années.

Cette exposition est produite par Environmental Exhibit Collaborative (EEC!), un regroupement de musées d’histoire naturelle et de musées pour enfants, de taille moyenne, notamment le centre ÉCHO. Elle a été rendue possible par des bourses des fiducies caritatives Jane’s Trust et Cabot Family Charitable Trust, avec une aide additionnelle de IBM.
 
L’aquarium d’eau douce et le centre d’activités scientifiques du centre ÉCHO sont situés dans le Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain sur le bord du lac à Burlington dans le Vermont. Le centre ÉCHO présente 70 espèces vivantes, plus de 100 expériences interactives, un changement saisonnier des expositions et des activités — le tout axé sur l’exploration de l’Écologie, de la Culture, de l’Histoire et des Occasions de gérance du bassin du lac Champlain. Le site écologique de 2,2 acres du Centre Leahy bénéficie également de la présence du centre de documentation du programme du bassin du lac Champlain, du laboratoire Rubenstein de science des écosystèmes de l’Université du Vermont, du monument commémoratif de la marine du lac Champlain, de la boutique de cadeaux éclectiques du centre ÉCHO et de l’unique Think! Café à saveur écologique. Ouvert toute l’année de 10 h à 17 h, à l’exception du jour de l’Action de grâces (jeudi 27 novembre 2008) ainsi que la veille et le jour de Noël. Le prix d’entrée est de 7 $ ou 9,50 $; l’entrée est libre pour les enfants de moins de 3 ans et pour tous les enseignants du primaire et du secondaire sur présentation d’une carte professionnelle. Pour obtenir des renseignements complémentaires, visitez www.echovermont.org (en anglais, version française en préparation), appelez le 1-877-ECHOFUN ou écrivez au Centre ECHO, Aquarium d’eau douce et centre d’activités scientifiques, Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain, One College Street, Burlington, VT 05401, États-Unis


###

©2014 LCBSC - ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center/Leahy Center for Lake Champlain - One College St. - Burlington VT 05401 - 1.877.324.6386
Directions Hours & Admission Blog E-Cards Jobs Volunteer Internships Press Room Contact Privacy Policy Terms of Use

Skip Navigation
 1.877.324.6386 1.802.864.1848

 Français
LAKE WEATHER
Get Details
 28°
   
Donate to ECHO

 

           
HOME / VISITORS / PRESS ROOM / MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE / RELEASE

RETURN TO MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE


VISITORS

+

HOURS &
ADMISSION
+ DAILY SCHEDULE
+ DIRECTIONS
+ FOOD &
BEVERAGES
+ GIFT SHOP
+ ABOUT ECHO
+ GROUP TOURS
+ FACILITY RENTAL
- PRESS ROOM

Media Release
Archive

Photos

Audio & Video
Archive

NEW FROM
THE ECHO BLOG

ECHO VOLUNTEER SPOTLIGHT- KATE MEYER

POSTED OCTOBER 3 AT 10:59 AM

ECHO's Mission is to Educate and Delight our…

READ MORE +

FOR IMMEDIATE
RELEASE

 
Contact: Steven Leibman or Grace Per Lee
802-864-1848 ext. 125 or 131
sleibman@echovermont.org or gperlee@echovermont.org

CLICK HERE FOR FRENCH-CANADIAN VERSION

HUNT FOR NEW ENGLAND'S "DINOTRACKS" AT ECHO

New Exhibit Opens November 15

BURLINGTON, Vt. —Imagine, for a moment, finding a dinosaur footprint in your own backyard. It happened to 14-year-old Pliny Moody as he was plowing his father’s Massachusetts field in 1802: Three-toed tracks imprinted in a slab of rock — and the word “dinosaur” hadn’t even been coined yet! How did we get from those footprints, found more than a hundred years ago, to our modern understanding of dinosaurs? Find out with “DinoTracks,” running November 15 - April 27, at ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, at the Leahy Center for Lake Champlain. This latest ECHO exhibit features real fossils and imaginative interactives that bring paleoichnology — the study of ancient remains, including tracks — to life. “DinoTracks” uniquely focuses on dinosaur footprints from the New England states of Massachusetts and Connecticut, as well as New Jersey and Eastern Canada, where numerous fossils have been found and, in fact, are still being found today.

Visitors to “DinoTracks” will:

  • Step right up — and into — the life-sized tracks made by New England dinosaurs millions of years ago. Can you follow their trail?
  • Run as fast as a dinosaur — or creep as slow — on the “Dino Treadmill;” then use a custom-designed giant calculator to compare your speeds.
  • Hear and feel the powerful footsteps of a dinosaur “sneaking up on you” from your seat on the Jurassic Park Bench.
  • Discover how scientists today use live emus, turkeys, and lizards to explore how dinosaurs may have moved.

Says ECHO Executive Director Phelan Fretz, “There is a story behind every set of tracks, and interpreting those stories is as exciting and varied as the tracks themselves.” Even the absence of tracks tells a story. For instance, here’s a mystery: Vermont is surrounded by states and provinces where numerous tracks have been found, but at this time, no dinosaur tracks have been located within the Green Mountain State. Why? Experts theorize that most of Vermont was under water during prehistoric times. But Vermont has its own claim to “fossil fame:” Traces of coral reef found in the Champlain Islands pre-date the dinosaurs by several million years!

“DinoTracks” is a creation of EEC!, the same folks who brought you Turtle Travels, Tree Houses, and Attack of the Bloodsuckers! The entire exhibit is in English, French, and Spanish, welcoming visitors from near and far. Be sure to join this hands-on — and feet-on — journey of discovery, unraveling the tales of the dinosaurs that roamed our own “backyard,” millions of years ago.

This exhibit is produced by the Environmental Exhibit Collaborative (EEC!), a group of mid-sized children’s and natural science museums, including ECHO, and is made possible by grants from Jane’s Trust and the Cabot Family Charitable Trust, with added support from IBM.


ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center is located at the Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, on Vermont’s Burlington Waterfront. ECHO features 70 live species, over 100 interactive experiences, seasonal changing exhibits and events — all exploring the Ecology, Culture, History, and Opportunity for stewardship of the Lake Champlain Basin. The 2.2 acre Leahy Center environmental campus is also highlighted by the Lake Champlain Basin Program Resource Room, UVM’s Rubenstein Ecosystem Science Laboratory, Lake Champlain Navy Memorial, ECHO’s Eclectic Gift Shop, and green-themed Think! Café. Open year-round, 10 a.m.-5 p.m., except Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve & Day. Admission is $7-$9.50; children under 3 and K-12 classroom teachers with credential ID are free. For more information visit echovermont.org, call 1-877-ECHOFUN, or write to ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, One College Street, Burlington, VT 05401.


###

©2014 LCBSC - ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center/Leahy Center for Lake Champlain - One College St. - Burlington VT 05401 - 1.877.324.6386
Directions Hours & Admission Blog E-Cards Jobs Volunteer Internships Press Room Contact Privacy Policy Terms of Use