Skip Navigation
 1.877.324.6386 1.802.864.1848

 Français
LAKE WEATHER
Get Details
 °
   
Donate to ECHO

 

           
HOME / VISITORS / PRESS ROOM / MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE / RELEASE

RETURN TO MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE


VISITORS

+

HOURS &
ADMISSION
+ DAILY SCHEDULE
+ DIRECTIONS
+ FOOD &
BEVERAGES
+ GIFT SHOP
+ ABOUT ECHO
+ GROUP TOURS
+ FACILITY RENTAL
- PRESS ROOM

Media Release
Archive

Photos

Audio & Video
Archive

NEW FROM
THE ECHO BLOG

LESSONS FROM THE PACIFIC COAST, THE HATFIELD CENTER, NEWPORT, OREGON

POSTED JULY 28 AT 11:06 AM

The following blog was…

READ MORE +

FOR IMMEDIATE
RELEASE

 

Centre ÉCHO
Aquarium d’eau douce et
centre d’activités scientifiques
Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain

COMMUNIQUÉ

À la découverte de nos voisins autochtones

Le 14 février 2009, le centre ÉCHO procède au lancement de
« EXPRESSIONS AMÉRINDIENNES »

BURLINGTON (Vermont), le 26 janvier 2009. — La région reliant le Vermont, le nord de l’État de New York et le Québec est habitée depuis plus de 11 000 ans — des Paléoindiens de notre dernière période glaciaire aux Abénaquis et aux Mohawks d’aujourd’hui. À compter du 14 février, dans le cadre des célébrations du quadricentenaire du lac Champlain organisées toute l’année dans la région, l’aquarium d’eau douce et le centre d’activités scientifiques du Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain au centre ÉCHO., vous permettent d’explorer, dans l’ensemble de leurs installations, la culture et l’histoire de ces peuples avec « EXPRESSIONS AMÉRINDIENNES : les peuples autochtones du bassin du lac Champlain ». La chambre de commerce du Vermont a déclaré que cette exposition figurait au palmarès des « Dix meilleures manifestations de cet hiver ».

Grâce à des expositions touche-à-tout, à la présence d’espèces vivantes, une galerie de portraits contemporains, un programme de conférenciers, des projections de films et des objets façonnés, le centre ÉCHO espère mettre en perspective les récits amérindiens que l’histoire avait jusque-là trop souvent relégués au second plan et illustrer de quelle manière leurs liens et leur adaptation à la terre ont permis à nos voisins autochtones de survivre et de prospérer dans le bassin du lac Champlain. En partenariat avec la Smithsonian Institution, l’archéologue et anthropologue Stephen Loring ainsi que le professeur d’histoire des Abénaquis Frederick Wiseman, le centre ÉCHO examine les liens multiples entre l’homme et le paysage, liens qui remontent à plusieurs milliers d’années et sont toujours pertinents aujourd’hui.
Selon le directeur général du centre ÉCHO, Phelan Fretz, « les historiens actuels commencent tout juste à comprendre ces cultures complexes, anciennes de plusieurs milliers d’années, dans lesquelles les matériaux de base ont joué un rôle important. Nous ne prétendons pas brosser un tableau complet, mais nous avons l’intention de dévoiler de nouvelles données scientifiques qui alimenteront des conversations animées. »

« EXPRESSIONS AMÉRINDIENNES » sera intégrée de façon éclectique dans l’ensemble des installations du centre ÉCHO : des artéfacts que l’on peut toucher à des anguilles d’Amérique vivantes jusqu’à la collection de photos du photographe renommé Ned Castle — l’exposition a de quoi intéresser tous les âges et répondre à tous les intérêts et a comme objectif de présenter un point de vue sur les Autochtones rarement adopté; il s’agit d’un voyage de découvertes.

En plus des expositions et de la programmation éducative et grand public percutante de « EXPRESSIONS AMÉRINDIENNES », le centre ÉCHO projettera à plusieurs reprises Before the Lake was Champlain (Avant que le lac ne s’appelle Champlain) du cinéaste Ted Timreck, lauréat de la Peabody Award, qui explore les trajets maritimes recherchés des peuples des Premières Nations à l’époque. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le
1-877-324-6386, ou visitez echovermont.org.

L’aquarium d’eau douce et le centre d’activités scientifiques du centre ÉCHO sont situés dans le Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain sur le bord du lac à Burlington dans le Vermont. Le centre ÉCHO présente 70 espèces vivantes, plus de 100 expériences interactives, un changement saisonnier des expositions et des activités — le tout axé sur l’exploration de l’Écologie, de la Culture, de l’Histoire et des Occasions de gérance du bassin du lac Champlain. Le site écologique de 2,2 acres du Centre Leahy bénéficie également de la présence du centre de documentation du programme du bassin du lac Champlain, du laboratoire Rubenstein de science des écosystèmes de l’Université du Vermont, du monument commémoratif de la marine du lac Champlain, de la boutique de cadeaux éclectiques du centre ÉCHO et de l’unique Think! Café à saveur écologique. Ouvert toute l’année de 10 h à 17 h, à l’exception du jour de l’Action de grâces ainsi que la veille et le jour de Noël. Le prix d’entrée est de 7 $ ou 9,50 $; l’entrée est libre pour les enfants de moins de 3 ans et pour tous les enseignants du primaire et du secondaire sur présentation d’une carte professionnelle. Pour obtenir des renseignements complémentaires, visitez www.echovermont.org (en anglais, version française en préparation), appelez le 1-877-ECHOFUN ou écrivez au Centre ÉCHO, Aquarium d’eau douce et centre d’activités scientifiques, Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain, One College Street, Burlington, VT 05401, États-Unis

– 30 –
 

Personne-ressource : Grace Per Lee au 802-864-1848, poste 131
gperlee@echovermont.org

©2014 LCBSC - ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center/Leahy Center for Lake Champlain - One College St. - Burlington VT 05401 - 1.877.324.6386
Directions Hours & Admission Blog E-Cards Jobs Volunteer Internships Press Room Contact Privacy Policy Terms of Use

Skip Navigation
 1.877.324.6386 1.802.864.1848

 Français
LAKE WEATHER
Get Details
 41°
   
Donate to ECHO

 

           
HOME / VISITORS / PRESS ROOM / MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE / RELEASE

RETURN TO MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE


VISITORS

+

HOURS &
ADMISSION
+ DAILY SCHEDULE
+ DIRECTIONS
+ FOOD &
BEVERAGES
+ GIFT SHOP
+ ABOUT ECHO
+ GROUP TOURS
+ FACILITY RENTAL
- PRESS ROOM

Media Release
Archive

Photos

Audio & Video
Archive

NEW FROM
THE ECHO BLOG

ECHO VOLUNTEER SPOTLIGHT- KATE MEYER

POSTED OCTOBER 3 AT 10:59 AM

ECHO's Mission is to Educate and Delight our…

READ MORE +

FOR IMMEDIATE
RELEASE

 
Contact: Grace Per Lee
802-864-1848 ext. 131
gperlee@echovermont.org

CLICK HERE FOR FRENCH-CANADIAN VERSION

Discover Our Native Neighbors

ECHO to Launch “INDIGENOUS EXPRESSIONS” February 14, 2009

BURLINGTON, Vt. — For over 11,000 years, people have inhabited the area connecting Vermont, upstate New York, and Québec, Canada — from the Paleoindians of our last Ice Age to the Abenaki and Mohawk of today. Starting February 14, as part of the region’s year-long celebration of the Lake Champlain Quadricentennial, ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center at the Leahy Center for Lake Champlain is presenting a facility-wide experience exploring their culture and history: “INDIGENOUS EXPRESSIONS: Native Peoples of the Lake Champlain Basin” — declared a “Top 10 Winter Event” by the Vermont Chamber of Commerce.

Through hands-on exhibits, live species, a Contemporary Portrait Gallery, speaker’s series, film screenings, and artifacts, ECHO hopes to shed more light on indigenous stories that have too often been just a side-note in history, and to illustrate how their connections and adaptations to the land allow our Native neighbors to survive and thrive in the Lake Champlain Basin. In partnership with Smithsonian Institution Archaeologist and Anthropologist Stephen Loring and Abenaki Historian Frederick Wiseman, ECHO examines the multifaceted human-landscape connections that go back thousands of years, and are still viable today.

Says Executive Director Phelan Fretz, “Present-day historians are just beginning to understand these complex materials-based cultures from thousands of years ago. We don’t presume to tell the whole story, but we do intend to reveal new scientific information that will foster a spirited conversation.”

“INDIGENOUS EXPRESSIONS” will be eclectically integrated throughout ECHO’s entire facility: from touchable artifacts to live freshwater American eels to a photo collection by acclaimed photographer Ned Castle — the exhibit offers elements for every age and interest, and aims to present a Native perspective not often taken; a journey of discovery.

In addition to “INDIGENOUS EXPRESSIONS” exhibits and resonant educational and public programming, ECHO will host various screenings of “Before the Lake was Champlain,” by Peabody Award-winning filmmaker Ted Timreck, which explores the sophisticated maritime travels of Native peoples long ago. For more information call
1-877-324-6386, or visit echovermont.org.

This exhibit made possible by a grant from the US Department of Education through the support of Patrick Leahy, KeyBank, and the ECHO Annual Fund.

ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center is located at the Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, on Vermont’s Burlington Waterfront. ECHO features 70 live species, over 100 interactive experiences, seasonal changing exhibits and events — all exploring the Ecology, Culture, History, and Opportunity for stewardship of the Lake Champlain Basin. The 2.2 acre Leahy Center environmental campus is also highlighted by the Lake Champlain Basin Program Resource Room, UVM’s Rubenstein Ecosystem Science Laboratory, Lake Champlain Navy Memorial, ECHO’s Eclectic Gift Shop, and green-themed Think! Café. Open year-round, 10 a.m.-5 p.m., except Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve & Day. Admission is $7-$9.50; children under 3 and K-12 classroom teachers with credential ID are free. For more information visit echovermont.org, call 1-877-ECHOFUN, or write to ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, One College Street, Burlington, VT 05401.

###

©2014 LCBSC - ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center/Leahy Center for Lake Champlain - One College St. - Burlington VT 05401 - 1.877.324.6386
Directions Hours & Admission Blog E-Cards Jobs Volunteer Internships Press Room Contact Privacy Policy Terms of Use