Skip Navigation
 1.877.324.6386 1.802.864.1848

 Français
LAKE WEATHER
Get Details
 75°
   
Donate to ECHO

 

           
HOME / VISITORS / PRESS ROOM / MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE / RELEASE

RETURN TO MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE


VISITORS

+

HOURS &
ADMISSION
+ DAILY SCHEDULE
+ DIRECTIONS
+ FOOD &
BEVERAGES
+ GIFT SHOP
+ ABOUT ECHO
+ GROUP TOURS
+ FACILITY RENTAL
- PRESS ROOM

Media Release
Archive

Photos

Audio & Video
Archive

NEW FROM
THE ECHO BLOG

INTENSIVE LAB EXPERIENCES IN MILWAUKEE

POSTED JULY 22 AT 11:54 AM

The following blog was written…

READ MORE +

FOR IMMEDIATE
RELEASE

 

Centre ÉCHO
Aquarium d’eau douce et
centre d’activités scientifiques
Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain

CLICK HERE FOR ENGLISH VERSION

COMMUNIQUÉ

L’EXPOSITION « LE VENT : SA FORCE ET SON JEU »

SOUFFLE SUR LE CENTRE ÉCHO
16 mai – 1er novembre

BURLINGTON (Vermont), le 20 avril 2009 — Vous n’avez pas assez de vent dans les voiles? Alors rendez-vous vite à l’aquarium d’eau douce et centre d’activités scientifiques du centre ÉCHO, au centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain à Burlington dans le Vermont, et découvrez l’exposition « LE VENT : sa force et son jeu » présentée du 16 mai au 1er novembre. Cette exposition passionnante explore et met à l’honneur l’aérodynamique, la force, le vol, la science et le plaisir apportés par le vent, grâce à des activités interactives innovatrices comme un simulateur d’ouragan et une éblouissante collection de cerfs-volants.

Les visiteurs de « LE VENT : sa force et son jeu » pourront :

  • Se laisser emporter dans un simulateur d’ouragan de catégorie 1 — et ressentir des vents allant jusqu’à 125 kilomètres à l’heure!
  • Se faire plaisir en construisant — et en faisant décoller — des avions et des fusées, tout en mettant à jour les principes de vol;
  • Admirer une collection unique de cerfs-volants d’origines multiples, petits et grands et de style contemporain — et découvrir les premiers cerfs-volants et les pionniers, précurseurs du vol à propulsion humaine;
  • Faire voler des modèles personnalisés de cerfs-volants — à l’intérieur — au mur des forces éoliennes.

Selon le directeur général du centre ÉCHO, Phelan Fretz, « l’exposition “LE VENT : sa force et son jeu” est la “meilleure tempête” qui soit — avec des éléments scientifiques incroyables et une multitude d’expériences pratiques amusantes. »
Tout comme avec les autres expositions du centre ÉCHO, les visiteurs peuvent approfondir leur expérience grâce à des programmes éducatifs pratiques pour tous les âges, par exemple « Le vent : une force sur laquelle il faut compter ». Grâce à un système de réponse de haute technologie, les participants échangeront leurs réactions et discuteront des implications du vent — son énergie, sa puissance et son rôle dans nos vies. Une programmation supplémentaire comprend des classes et des camps, des consultations publiques modérées, des conférenciers, des concours, et des événements publics qui célèbrent et examinent la beauté et la puissance du vent; des précisions peuvent être trouvées sur le site echovermont.org.

« LE VENT : sa force et son jeu » s’inscrit dans le projet énergétique du Vermont, le Energy Project Vermont — un partenariat entre le centre ÉCHO et le centre des arts Burlington City Arts, avec le soutien de l’Université du Vermont. Commanditée par la Fondation Jan & David Blittersdorf et le parc technologique; l’aéroport international de Burlington et l’entreprise Seventh Generation; le distributeur d’électricité Green Mountain Power, la Fondation Lintilhac, la firme SymQuest® Group Inc., et la Vermont Public Power Supply Authority.

L’aquarium d’eau douce et le centre d’activités scientifiques du centre ÉCHO sont situés dans le Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain sur le bord du lac à Burlington dans le Vermont. Le centre ÉCHO présente 70 espèces vivantes, plus de 100 expériences interactives, un changement saisonnier des expositions et des activités — le tout axé sur l’exploration de l’Écologie, de la Culture, de l’Histoire et des Occasions de gérance du bassin du lac Champlain. Le site écologique de 2,2 acres du Centre Leahy bénéficie également de la présence du centre de documentation du programme du bassin du lac Champlain, du laboratoire Rubenstein de science des écosystèmes de l’Université du Vermont, du monument commémoratif de la marine du lac Champlain, de la boutique de cadeaux éclectiques du centre ÉCHO et de l’unique Think! Café à saveur écologique. Ouvert toute l’année de 10 h à 17 h, à l’exception du jour de l’Action de grâces ainsi que la veille et le jour de Noël. Pour obtenir des renseignements complémentaires, visitez www.echovermont.org (en anglais, version française en préparation), appelez le 1-877-324-6386 ou écrivez au Centre ÉCHO, Aquarium d’eau douce et centre d’activités scientifiques, Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain, One College Street, Burlington, VT 05401, États-Unis

– 30 –
 

Veuillez communiquer avec :
Steven Leibman au 1 802 864-1848, poste 125, sleibman@echovermont.org
Grace Per Lee au 1 802-864-1848, poste 131,gperlee@echovermont.org
 

©2014 LCBSC - ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center/Leahy Center for Lake Champlain - One College St. - Burlington VT 05401 - 1.877.324.6386
Directions Hours & Admission Blog E-Cards Jobs Volunteer Internships Press Room Contact Privacy Policy Terms of Use

Skip Navigation
 1.877.324.6386 1.802.864.1848

 Français
LAKE WEATHER
Get Details
 74°
   
Donate to ECHO

 

           
HOME / VISITORS / PRESS ROOM / MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE / RELEASE

RETURN TO MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE


VISITORS

+

HOURS &
ADMISSION
+ DAILY SCHEDULE
+ DIRECTIONS
+ FOOD &
BEVERAGES
+ GIFT SHOP
+ ABOUT ECHO
+ GROUP TOURS
+ FACILITY RENTAL
- PRESS ROOM

Media Release
Archive

Photos

Audio & Video
Archive

NEW FROM
THE ECHO BLOG

INTENSIVE LAB EXPERIENCES IN MILWAUKEE

POSTED JULY 22 AT 11:54 AM

The following blog was written…

READ MORE +

FOR IMMEDIATE
RELEASE

 

Contact: Steven Leibman or Grace Per Lee
802-864-1848 ext. 125 or 131
sleibman@echovermont.org or gperlee@echovermont.org

CLICK HERE FOR FRENCH-CANADIAN VERSION

“WIND: POWER & PLAY” BLOWS INTO ECHO

May 16 – November 1

Want to put some wind in your sails? Then head to Burlington, Vermont’s ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, at the Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, for “WIND: Power & Play,” running May 16 through November 1. This compelling exhibit explores and celebrates the aerodynamics, force, flight, science, and fun of wind, through innovative interactives featuring a Hurricane Simulator and a dazzling collection of kites.

Visitors to “WIND: Power and Play” will:

  • Get blown away in their Category One Hurricane Simulator — experience winds up to 78 miles per hour!
  • Enjoy building — and launching — planes and rockets, while uncovering the principles of flight.
  • See a unique collection of world, contemporary, mini and giant kites — and discover the pioneering kites and inventors that aimed towards human-powered flight.
  • Fly customized kite creations — indoors — at the Wall of Wind.

ECHO Executive Director Phelan Fretz says, “’WIND: Power & Play’ is the ‘perfect storm’ — incredible science plus tons of hands-on fun.”

As with all ECHO exhibits, visitors can deepen their experience through hands-on educational programs for all ages, such as “Wind: A Force to be Reckoned With.” Using a high-tech response system, participants will share their personal reactions and discuss the implications of wind — its energy, power, and play in our lives. Additional programming includes classes and camps, moderated community dialogues, speakers, competitions, and public events that celebrate and examine the beauty and power of wind; specifics can be found at echovermont.org.

“WIND: Power and Play” is part of the Energy Project Vermont — A partnership between ECHO and Burlington City Arts, with the support of University of Vermont. Sponsored by: The Jan & David Blittersdorf Foundation and Technology Park; Burlington International Airport and Seventh Generation; Green Mountain Power, the Lintilhac Foundation, SymQuest® Group Inc., and Vermont Public Power Supply Authority.

ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center is located at the Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, on Vermont’s Burlington Waterfront. ECHO features 70 live species, over 100 interactive experiences, seasonal changing exhibits and events — all exploring the Ecology, Culture, History, and Opportunity for stewardship of the Lake Champlain Basin. The 2.2 acre Leahy Center environmental campus is also highlighted by the Lake Champlain Basin Program Resource Room, UVM’s Rubenstein Ecosystem Science Laboratory, Lake Champlain Navy Memorial, ECHO’s Eclectic Gift Shop, and ecology-themed Think! Café. Open year-round, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve & Day. For more information visit echovermont.org, call 1-877-324-6386, or write to ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, One College Street, Burlington, VT 05401.

###

©2014 LCBSC - ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center/Leahy Center for Lake Champlain - One College St. - Burlington VT 05401 - 1.877.324.6386
Directions Hours & Admission Blog E-Cards Jobs Volunteer Internships Press Room Contact Privacy Policy Terms of Use