Skip Navigation
 1.877.324.6386 1.802.864.1848

 Français
LAKE WEATHER
Get Details
 49°
   
Donate to ECHO

 

           
HOME / VISITORS / PRESS ROOM / MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE / RELEASE

RETURN TO MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE


VISITORS

+

HOURS &
ADMISSION
+ DAILY SCHEDULE
+ DIRECTIONS
+ FOOD &
BEVERAGES
+ GIFT SHOP
+ ABOUT ECHO
+ GROUP TOURS
+ FACILITY RENTAL
- PRESS ROOM

Media Release
Archive

Photos

Audio & Video
Archive

NEW FROM
THE ECHO BLOG

LESSONS FROM THE PACIFIC COAST, THE HATFIELD CENTER, NEWPORT, OREGON

POSTED JULY 28 AT 11:06 AM

The following blog was…

READ MORE +

POUR PUBLICATION
IMMÉDIATE

 

Veuillez communiquer avec :
Steven Leibman au 1 802 864-1848, poste 125, sleibman@echovermont.org
ou Todd Carroll au 1 802 864-1848, poste 131, tcarroll@echovermont.org

Des photos haute résolution sont disponibles à l’adresse :
www.echovermont.org/visitors/photos.html

CLICK HERE FOR ENGLISH VERSION

COMMUNIQUÉ

L’EXPOSITION « MACHINS, BIDULES ET TRUCS! » COMBINE ART ET SCIENCE

Ouverture de la nouvelle exposition du centre ÉCHO le 14 novembre

BURLINGTON (Vermont), le 19 octobre 2009 — Un bidule est souvent défini comme « un mécanisme plus ingénieux que pratique. » « Machins, bidules et trucs! » — l’exposition la plus récente de l’aquarium d’eau douce et centre d’activités scientifiques du centre ÉCHO, au Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain — fusionne l’art et la science de façon unique et permet aux visiteurs de découvrir un monde interactif de gadgets, de trucs, de choses et de machins à la façon de Rube Goldberg : des bidules qui sont souvent à l’origine d’inventions. L’exposition, ouverte à partir du 14 novembre, présente les travaux innovateurs inspirés de l’art populaire de Clifford Wagner de Science Interactives et les créations futuristes des artistes Janet Van Fleet et Dave Blumenthal du Vermont.

  • Selon le directeur général du centre ÉCHO, Phelan Fretz : « L’exposition “Machins, bidules et trucs!” saura réjouir, éduquer et inspirer les jeunes et les moins jeunes grâce à son enchaînement éclectique d’art et d’innovation. »
  • Une panoplie étourdissante de présentations s’offrira aux visiteurs de « Machins, bidules et trucs! », notamment…
  • La boîte à rythmes : Dirigez un gigantesque ensemble de percussions composé de six rangées d’instruments et de 96 boutons.
  • Le topographiste : Transformez des objets 3-D en objets topographiques grâce à cette réalisation d’avant-garde de Dave Blumenthal de Montpelier dans le Vermont.
  • Des rebonds à gogo : Tournez une manivelle et observez les roues motorisées faire rebondir des balles à grande vitesse à l’intérieur d’une boîte en forme de « B ». Lorsque vous modifiez l’angle et la vitesse, les balles ne rebondissent plus de la même façon. Savez-vous pourquoi?
  • La danse du disque : Explorez la lumière et le mouvement dans cette œuvre accrocheuse de Janet Van Fleet, artiste de premier plan originaire de Cabot dans le Vermont.

Tout comme avec les autres expositions du centre ÉCHO, les visiteurs peuvent approfondir leur expérience grâce à des programmes éducatifs pratiques s’adressant à tous. Ils peuvent par exemple construire des mécanismes, fabriquer des thaumatropes — des dispositifs optiques qui fondent deux images en une — et en apprendre plus sur de simples machines grâce à des expériences interactives. D’autres programmes reliés à « Machins, bidules et trucs! » comprennent des conférenciers, des concours et des événements publics célébrant l’ingéniosité de nos esprits créatifs.

Les éléments de cette installation ont été produits par l’Environmental Exhibit Collaborative (EEC!) : un regroupement de quatre centres des sciences — y compris le centre ÉCHO — et des musées pour enfants, en partenariat avec des artistes locaux. Les expositions EEC! sont rendues possibles grâce à un appui de taille de la Jane’s Trust, et d’un soutien additionnel de la Cabot Family Charitable Trust et de IBM. La conception de « Machins, bidules et trucs de A à Z! » a été réalisée par Clifford Wagner Scientific Interactives Inc.

L’aquarium d’eau douce et le centre d’activités scientifiques du centre ÉCHO sont situés dans le Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain sur le bord du lac à Burlington dans le Vermont. Le centre ÉCHO présente 70 espèces vivantes, plus de 100 expériences interactives, des expositions temporaires et permanentes et des activités saisonnières — le tout axé sur l’exploration de l’Écologie, de la Culture, de l’Histoire et des Occasions de gérance du bassin du lac Champlain. Le site écologique de 2,2 acres du Centre Leahy bénéficie également de la présence du centre de documentation du programme du bassin du lac Champlain, du laboratoire Rubenstein de science des écosystèmes de l’Université du Vermont, du monument commémoratif de la marine du lac Champlain, de la boutique de cadeaux éclectiques du centre ÉCHO et de l’unique Think! Café à saveur écologique. Ouvert toute l’année de 10 h à 17 h, à l’exception du jour de l’Action de grâces ainsi que la veille et le jour de Noël. Pour obtenir des renseignements complémentaires, visitez www.echovermont.org, appelez le 1-877-324-6386 ou écrivez au Centre ÉCHO, Aquarium d’eau douce et centre d’activités scientifiques, Centre Leahy pour le lac Champlain, One College Street, Burlington, VT 05401, États-Unis.

– ## –

©2014 LCBSC - ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center/Leahy Center for Lake Champlain - One College St. - Burlington VT 05401 - 1.877.324.6386
Directions Hours & Admission Blog E-Cards Jobs Volunteer Internships Press Room Contact Privacy Policy Terms of Use

Skip Navigation
 1.877.324.6386 1.802.864.1848

 Français
LAKE WEATHER
Get Details
 43°
   
Donate to ECHO

 

           
HOME / VISITORS / PRESS ROOM / MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE / RELEASE

RETURN TO MEDIA RELEASE ARCHIVE


VISITORS

+

HOURS &
ADMISSION
+ DAILY SCHEDULE
+ DIRECTIONS
+ FOOD &
BEVERAGES
+ GIFT SHOP
+ ABOUT ECHO
+ GROUP TOURS
+ FACILITY RENTAL
- PRESS ROOM

Media Release
Archive

Photos

Audio & Video
Archive

NEW FROM
THE ECHO BLOG

THE MAKINGS OF A BEAUTIFUL FRIENDSHIP

POSTED MARCH 27 AT 5:00 PM

As the AmeriCorps member here at ECHO I have the privilege…

READ MORE +

FOR IMMEDIATE
RELEASE

October 19, 2009

Contact: Steven Leibman or Todd Carroll
802.864.1848 ext. 125 or 131
sleibman@echovermont.org or tcarroll@echovermont.org

High definition photos available at
www.echovermont.org/visitors/photos.html

CLICK HERE FOR FRENCH-CANADIAN VERSION

ART & SCIENCE COMBINE IN “CONTRAPTIONS!”

New ECHO Exhibit Opens November 14

BURLINGTON, Vt. — A contraption is often defined as “a device more ingenious than practical.” “Contraptions!” — the newest exhibit at ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, at the Leahy Center for Lake Champlain — is a unique fusion of art and science, where visitors can experience an interactive, Rube Goldberg-esque world of gadgets, gizmos, doodads, and whatchamacallits: contraptions that are often the roots of invention. The exhibit, opening November 14, features the innovative, folk art-like works of Clifford Wagner from Science Interactives, and futuristic creations from Vermont artists Janet Van Fleet and Dave Blumenthal. "Contraptions!" is sponsored by Conant Metal & Light, Inc.

ECHO Executive Director Phelan Fretz says: “With its eclectic mix of art and innovation, “Contraptions!” is sure to delight, educate, and inspire young-and-old alike.”

Among a dizzying array of exhibit experiences, “Contraptions!” visitors will encounter…

  • The Drum Machine: Conduct a huge percussion ensemble with six rows of instruments and 96 switches.
  • TopoMaker: Transform 3-D objects into topographs with this state-of-the-art work by Dave Blumenthal of Montpelier, VT.
  • Berserko Ball Bouncer: Turn a crank and motorized wheels bounce balls at super speed inside a “B”-shaped box. When you change the angle and speed, you change the way the balls bounce. Do you know why?
  • Disc Dance: Explore light and motion in this eye-catching work by acclaimed artist Janet Van Fleet, of Cabot, VT.

As with all ECHO exhibits, visitors can deepen their experience through hands-on educational programs for all ages, such as constructing contraptions, making thaumatropes — optical devices that melds two images into one — and learning more about simple machines through interactive experiments. Additional “Contraptions!”-related programming includes speakers, competitions, and public events that celebrate the ingenuity of our creative minds.

Components of this exhibit installation were produced by the Environmental Exhibit Collaborative (EEC!): a group of four science centers — including ECHO — and children’s museums, in partnership with local artists. EEC! exhibits are made possible by major support from Jane’s Trust, with additional support provided by the Cabot Family Charitable Trust and IBM. “Contraptions A to Z” was designed by Clifford Wagner Scientific Interactives Inc.

# # #

ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center is located at the Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, on Vermont’s Burlington Waterfront. ECHO features 70 live species, more than 100 interactive experiences, changing and permanent exhibits and seasonal events — all exploring the Ecology, Culture, History, and Opportunity for stewardship of the Lake Champlain Basin. The 2.2 acre Leahy Center environmental campus is also highlighted by the Lake Champlain Basin Program Resource Room, UVM’s Rubenstein Ecosystem Science Laboratory, Lake Champlain Navy Memorial, ECHO’s Eclectic Gift Shop, and ecology-themed Think! Café. Open year-round, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve & Day. For more information visit echovermont.org, call 1.877.324.6386, or write to ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, One College Street, Burlington, VT 05401.
 

©2014 LCBSC - ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center/Leahy Center for Lake Champlain - One College St. - Burlington VT 05401 - 1.877.324.6386
Directions Hours & Admission Blog E-Cards Jobs Volunteer Internships Press Room Contact Privacy Policy Terms of Use